21 Essential Truths To Remember As You Make It Through Your 20s

Never judge anyone else about the kind of job they’re working, or the lifestyle they are living.

Thought Catalog
4 min readJan 23, 2024
Alexander Mass

By Chelsea Fagan

To keep myself sane, and thinking positively, I try to keep a few important ideas with me at all times. Some I have written in my journal, some I used to keep on my white board, some I have saved in the drafts folder of my Tumblr (as silly as that is). Here, the things that help me the most to remember when I’m overwhelmed with it all.

1. Just having a job of any kind is already a huge victory. It’s easy to get caught up in wanting a “better” job, or one that pays more, or one that sounds cooler, but you can’t lose sight of important it is to have a job at all.

2. Being self-conscious about money is the silliest thing you could do in our generation. If you have debt, you don’t need to be embarrassed about it. You just have to work hard to make the best of your situation, and be honest with your budget. There is no shame in saying “I can’t go out this week, trying to save money.”

3. Never judge anyone else about the kind of job they’re working, or the lifestyle they are living. It’s a hard battle for everyone.

--

--

Thought Catalog

We’re a community of creators based in NYC. We publish a digital magazine and limited edition books. thoughtcatalog.com // shopcatalog.com